Amata-Cosponsored Bill Supports Women Entrepreneurs

October 24, 2019
Press Release

Washington, D.C. – Thursday, Congresswoman Aumua Amata announced she is an original cosponsor and lead Republican of a bipartisan effort to assist women entrepreneurs. The bill sponsored by Rep. Grace Meng (D-NY) was introduced this week to help reestablish federal coordinated efforts aimed at helping women-owned businesses succeed.

Specifically, the bill would reauthorize the Interagency Committee on Women’s Business Enterprise (ICWBE), a U.S. government entity that would be tasked with coordinating federal resources to help women-owned businesses grow.

“As we have learned in the Small Business Committee, more and more women are taking the lead in the business world,” said Rep. Aumua Amata (R-AS), Vice Ranking Member of the Committee on Small Business. “I’m honored to cosponsor this legislation and want to thank Rep. Meng for introducing this bill. Reauthorizing the Interagency Committee will ensure that women continue to access the guidance and resources they need to succeed.”

“Getting the ICWBE back to functioning status would help increase the ability of the federal government to provide targeted assistance to women entrepreneurs so they can achieve their business goals,” said Rep. Meng. “Helping women business owners is vital to ensuring a strong economy and creating jobs, and my bill would make sure they have access to critical government tools that help them start, grow, and sustain their business enterprises. I urge all my colleagues to support this legislation.”

ICWBE was established in 1979 and coordinated the work of several federal agencies in development of policies to help women business owners flourish, but it has been inactive since 2000. Upon being revived, ICWBE would look at the behavior of federal agencies in how they support, expand, and strengthen resources and programs for women-owned businesses, and ensure that the federal government is doing what it can to support female entrepreneurs. The legislation has been referred to the House Small Business Committee.