Amata Cosponsors Resolution Honoring Women’s Suffrage Centennial

July 20, 2020
Press Release

Washington, D.C. – Monday, Congresswoman Aumua Amata announced she has cosponsored the bipartisan House Resolution honoring the upcoming centennial of Women’s Suffrage and the ratification of the 19th Amendment to the United States Constitution.

The Resolution highlights two upcoming dates of historic importance: August 18, 2020, which marks the centennial of the 19th Amendment gaining the approval of the required three-fourths of the states; and August 26, 2020, which marks the centennial of the amendment officially becoming part of the Constitution.

House Women's Caucus (Photo courtesy of the House of Representatives)
House Women’s Caucus (Photo courtesy of the House of Representatives)


This Resolution was introduced by the Bipartisan Women’s Caucus so that Congress specifically recognizes these historic anniversaries, and to officially designate August as National Women’s Suffrage Month.

“A century ago, years of patient efforts of many brave women of vision resulted in this historic outcome,” said Aumua Amata. “It’s humbling to think of their hard work, faith and persistence. All women in public service stand on the foundation they built. Because of them, each generation of our girls and young women should be able to look forward to more options and opportunities in pursuit of their dreams and life’s work.”

Rep Amata with friends Rep Gonzalez-Colon and Rep Walorski on opening day of the new Congress
Opening day of Congress with Women’s Caucus Vice Chair Jenniffer Gonzalez-Colon and Rep. Jackie Walorski.


Last year, Congresswoman Amata cosponsored the Women’s Suffrage Centennial Commemorative Coin Act, led by Rep. Elise Stefanik (R-NY), which was passed and signed into law by President Trump. (See commemorative coin press release here). That project, self-funded through the sale of coins at no cost to taxpayers, was then led and completed by U.S. Mint Director David Ryder, who visited American Samoa in February 2020 to celebrate the National Park of American Samoa coin.

Examining the coins
(File photo) Director Ryder showing the American Samoa coin in DC prior to his February trip here.


The Women’s Caucus is led by bipartisan Co-Chairs Reps. Debbie Lesko of Arizona and Brenda Lawrence of Michigan, and Caucus Vice Chairs Reps. Jenniffer González-Colón of Puerto Rico, and Madeleine Dean of Pennsylvania.